As some of you know, I’m a sports blogger. I’m all about the NBA. And, in the NBA world, Charles Barkley is one of the more vocal guys on and now off the court. My opinion of him is that he is funny. I looked up a lot of his quotes. I and him think alike. I would say the same things he said in the same way if I were in his position. That being said, this post almost has nothing to do with sports. There’s a quote I read from him a couple of years ago that I still agree with today. Here’s the quote:

“There are really only five serious, important jobs in the world: Teachers, firemen, police, doctors and our folks serving in the armed forces.”

Right there. I’m 100% behind this. And the thing is, these professions rarely get enough credit. They don’t get paid enough for me. We put our money in Hollywood and sports mostly. Entertainment in general. Things would be worse off if each of these professions didn’t exist. I’m a firm believer that there are idiots roaming the earth. Well, there would be even more idiots if there were no teachers to teach. We wouldn’t be able to do anything if we don’t know how to do it. Duh. The early pilgrims would have starved and died if were not for Native Americans teaching them how to fish and deal with crops. How the pilgrims returned the favor is another story.

Forest fires and house fires are serious. If left unchecked, they can cause a lot more damage if not for our firefighters. They save lives too by going into the flames. They put their life on the line so that we can be safe. Police do the same thing dealing with crime. And our doctors help us with our health in many ways. And our defense, the armed forces. Sure they’re sent on foolish missions every once in a while, but we should be thankful for their sacrifice they make to protect our USA. The physical, mental, and spiritual damage can really take their toll. Just because we can’t see the scars doesn’t mean it’s not there.

So sure they don’t have the same glamor of Hollywood or the electricity of sports. But they are very important for our society.

And that’s just my opinion!

