This is the first post ever on this blog. And it’s back because it never gets old.

What is a good brother? I have some experience as a brother. 18 years. A fairly long time so I feel that I have a very informed opinion as to how to be a good brother. I’m 21 so I’ve been a brother for most of my life. I’m not perfect, but I’d like to think I’m a better brother than most. I have three sisters and a godsister so I have a few people to share my love with.

It’s not how to be a good older brother, but it’s more of just being a brother in general. I don’t have experience having a brother. Just sisters. But I’m still going to talk about bond between two brothers. Here we go:

Sometimes being a brother is even better than being a superhero.  ~Marc Brown. After a girl is grown, her little brothers – now her protectors – seem like big brothers.  ~Astrid Alauda

Yes, I do feel that a brother, older or younger, is better than Spider-Man, Superman, Batman, and all the rest of them. It’s something about a brother standing up for you that is special. I can only speak from being a brother. Let’s compare with my favorite superhero, Spider-Man. When there is danger, his “Spider Sense” goes off and he’s ready for action. That’s the same with a good brother. To me, a good brother is ready to fight when he realizes that there is danger near his siblings. In my case, if I see a grown man talking to my sisters, my danger-meter goes up and I tend to get very suspicious of that man. My meter doesn’t go up around most members of my family though. I trust some of them, only some. Point is, if I feel that my siblings are in trouble, I tend to just call everyone  an agent sent from the Devil himself. I kinda forget about who you are and focus on what you could do to my siblings.

I don’t believe an accident of birth makes people sisters or brothers.  It makes them siblings, gives them mutuality of parentage.  Sisterhood and brotherhood is a condition people have to work at.  ~Maya Angelou

Indeed this is true. Just like being a father does not make you a dad, being a sibling does not make you a brother. You have to earn the right of being called a brother. I think I’ve earned that right. I don’t mean to brag, but I do a lot for my sisters. Money is no object when it comes to them. I’ve gotten them games for the Wii (and other accessories). I’ve gotten food for my ladies (the times when mom can’t get groceries). It’s not about money though. When my sisters are sick, I’m by their bedside; making sure that they have soup with crackers, ginger-ale, and whatever else they need. It helps that I never get sick. When everyone in the house gets sick, I stay healthy. That allows me to help my sisters. Now that I have my license, I can drive them to where they need to be.

It snowed last year too:  I made a snowman and my brother knocked it down and I knocked my brother down and then we had tea.  ~Dylan Thomas

Ah sibling rivalry, right? Sometimes siblings get into little squabbles but in the end, they are best of friends. It’s happen to me. One day, I’m arguing with my one of my sisters. That same day, we’re playing a game of cards or a video game. A good brother can look over his sibling’s annoyance and love him/her unconditionally.

Siblings are the people we practice on, the people who teach us about fairness and cooperation and kindness and caring – quite often the hard way.  ~Pamela Dugdale

Here we go. The best example of this is when it comes to marriage. You hear about how you can tell what kind of husband you’ll have by the way he treats his mommy. Well it’s the same in siblings. Ladies, if the man you like is not treating his siblings right, he’s probably not going to treat you much better. Having siblings teaches you how to share and care. Teaches you how to think about how your actions affect others. Helps prepare you to communicate with other people. Lot’s of things that I can’t think of right now.

So those are factors that make a good brother. I pass those tests and that makes me a good brother. Doing the best that you can to be a good brother is enough to pass this test too. I have to say that this is geared towards people with brothers or who are brothers. But I will say this: Friends can become brothers

Friends are relatives you make for yourself.  ~Eustache Deschamps. A brother is a friend God gave you; A friend is a brother your heart chose. -Proverb

A friendship can grow stronger and stronger until you feel that this person is just like a sibling to you. And that is part of why I think you have to earn the title of brother. Siblings and friends have to earn the title of brother. Now, obviously, your blood brother is more of a brother than your friend could ever be, but being a brother is special and should only be for the extraordinary men in our lives.

-DALANEL

