This post originated at my now shutdown blog, Christian Interpretations.

I’m going to share a couple of verses to you explaining why it is important to love others.

But first, some of my thoughts. Love is more of a verb than a feeling to me. You must make the choice to love someone. That “feeling” is often paired with hormones and such. You don’t always feel like loving your friend when he gets on your nerves.

Ha, God definitely chooses to love us. As much as we mess up? If he felt like loving, we’d be dead by now. He chooses to love us despite our mistakes. He loved us so much he decided to send His only Son to save us all. So, now that we know about love, let’s talk about it.

Matthew 22:39 says (from NKJV): And the second is like, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself’.

What does that mean? Well, we love ourselves. At least, we should. And, as we respect and love ourselves we should be showing this same love to others. But we’re still at the point of, “Why?” Why should I love someone I don’t even know?

That connects to this verse here: 1 John 4:20-21: If someone says, “I love God,” but hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen? And this commandment we have from Him: that he who loves God must love his brother also.

As you can see, even from these two verses, love is indeed a commandment. It’s not a feeling. We must do it. And this last verse I’m sharing should hopefully encourage you to love others. Matthew 25:31-46 says this:

When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory. All the nations will be gathered before Him and He will separate them from one another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats. Then He will set the sheep on His right hand but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you game Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ Then the righteous will answer Him saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these brethren, you did it to Me.’ Then He will also say to those on the left hand, ‘Depart from Me, you cursed, into the everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels: for I was hungry and you game Me no food; I was thirsty and you gave Me no drink; I was a stranger and you did not take Me in, naked and you did not clothe Me, sick and in prison and you did not visit Me.’ Then they also will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison and did not minister to You?’ Then He will answer them saying, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to Me.’ And these will go away into everlasting punishment but the righteous into eternal life.”

Whew! So basically, if you love others, you are loving God. And so, this is the ultimate reason, besides being commanded to do so, to love everyone you meet. I’m not talking about frenching everyone you pass by or freaking people out by always smiling and waving. But, you certainly don’t want to treat anyone the way you wouldn’t want to be treated as well as the way you wouldn’t want to treat God.

I love you with the love of the Lord. I choose to love you. I may never meet you and I love you because of these things you have read here.

