I first want to thank all of you that are following me. You’re following me if you’re connected to me at these places (largest following to smallest):

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • LinkedIn
  • Tumblr
  • Google Plus

All of my followings combine to 736 as I write this post. Now, you may glance to the left and see a different number.

I can explain.

I don’t know why (maybe you fellow WordPressers can help me out), but WordPress only counts Facebook, Twitter, Email subscribers, comments, and Tumblr as the following of the site. Yet, on the sharing page, where you connect various accounts directly to your blog, I also have LinkedIn, Google+, and Path. My phone doesn’t have a Path.com app available so I can’t actually build a following there yet. Still, I have people on LinkedIn and G+. So yeah, I combine the numbers from all of those sites for this final number.

I previously underestimated the blog with a goal of 700 by the end of the year. However, I think 800 by the end of the year will be a manageable goal.

The hardest part? Getting people to the blog. As I’ve said, viewing here is pretty blah. Still, my streak of getting at least one new follower per week is alive since March 2013. So, while not many come, those people like what they see.

Time to do math.

I need 64 followers to make the goal. Including today, the 12th, I have 81 days to get to 800. So, I would need a little under one new follower per day. To be exact, I need .79 followers per day. Some weeks are pretty good. A standard week brings in a couple of new folks. Instead of per day, let’s look at per week. I would need 5.81 per week to meet the goal. 64 followers in 11 weeks.

So, can ya help a brotha out? If you’re not following, why don’t you go ahead and do it now? At the bottom right of the site (desktop version), you can see quick links to my various profiles to follow me at.

At the beginning of the following streak, I believe I was in the 300 range of followers. So, keeping that pace, I think 800 can happen.

And, again, for those of you that already follow me, thank you so much.

-DALANEL

