I got another update for you. Well, it’s a lot of stuff that has happened in the past two weeks.

For one thing, my work is done. Yes, after years of last minute stress, this year, my work is complete in terms of preparation. I and my assistant are ready to go. Only thing left is to rent the lighting equipment, but that won’t happen until a couple of weeks before the show. That’s enough time to practice though as well as train Nia.

I got the official dates and times for the shows as well as the remaining rehearsals. We’re gonna be spending a lot of time working on this so I’m excited about that. At this point, all I have to do is attend rehearsals for the cast to get an idea of where they will be on stage. But, again, I won’t know exactly how things will play out until I get my equipment.

In the meantime, I’ve been listening to the playlist that the choir is singing so I know the flow of the show. Ha. But, really, I am keeping up with everything I can so I won’t miss any ques. When I’m given enough time to prepare, I can really excel.

While I am growing more and more excited about this show, it’s the script that is still disturbing me. But, I figured it out. This play isn’t aimed for people that don’t know the story of Jesus’ birth. Heck, it’s not meant for anybody that doesn’t quite understand the Bible as it makes a lot of vague references to it. I mean, Jesus is born, but the play also goes into his ministry, death, and resurrection. I just don’t feel the Christmas story here. But, I’m in charge of lighting, so that’s none of my business. A couple of years ago, I did write a modern story of Jesus’ birth. It’s called: 2000 and Jesus. If my church ever wants to use it, they can. It’s better than this mess.

Overall, this is going to be a decent show. It’s simple. Let me tell you how it works. I talked about it a little but let me dive a little deeper.

There’s a script and a cast but, the cast is going to act out the script while a set group of readers reads the script. It’s interesting because the cast are a bunch of mimes. When I say that, think the white face guys. Normally, in past cantatas, they would mime to a couple of songs. This year, the new director decided to use them as part of the cast. In my opinion, it was a brilliant move. They’re already used to acting stuff out, so they should do well to act out the script. Absolutely brilliant although I hear most of the cast is upset that they don’t get to mime. But, they still are, there’s just no song and makeup.

So yeah, it’s going to be a new thing, a cool thing. I have to admit though, I’m still a little rattled from last year. Right now, I see myself leaving during the show if something like last year happens. I’m still a little raw. And, maybe I shouldn’t have taken this job if I felt I wouldn’t be able to take it. Still, my effort to make this work is 100%. I always give 100% or nothing at all. All or nothing.

So, when can we expect the next update? Probably once the lighting equipment comes. I’ll let you know how that works out. Meanwhile, I’ll keep track of how the rehearsals go between now and December.

For now, as I mentioned earlier, I’ll listen to the music and keep reading the script to see if there’s anything that can be addressed. That’s another reason why you need time. Time to look stuff over and catch anything that wouldn’t work.

That’s it for now.

-DALANEL

