Cover of "The Incredibles [UMD for PSP]"
Cover of The Incredibles [UMD for PSP]
Only five? Yeah, only five. I haven’t met a Pixar movie I didn’t like. Um, spoiler alert I guess.

5. WALL-E

We needed this movie. This was a scary one as WALL-E was about a robot who lived in 2105, a time where Earth is all messed up due to pollution and humans have left it behind. Meanwhile, the humans are so obese that it’s hilariously sad. They’re working on cleaning up the Earth to one day “return home”. And, WALL-E is a big part of that. A single plant is Earth’s last chance and WALL-E and his…some kind of friend/lover EVE…are protecting it from the…I don’t want to say “evil” but every movie needs a bad guy, right? This movie is possible if we’re not careful. Wake up, world.

4. Monsters Inc

This still leaves a sour taste in my mouth. I mean, if you’ve seen the end of it, you know what I’m talking about. I would’ve liked to see what Boo looked like. Anyway, this movie was fun in that it took you on an adventure you wouldn’t really consider as a possibility. While I don’t think I had a monster in my closet, Pixar did a great job of creating a business out of scaring. The idea of using the screams of children to convert into “power or energy” was awesome. I do like how, in the end, Sully figures out that laughter can produce the “energy” that the monster world needed. Great twist, there.

3. Toy Story 3

Many people and critics have said this the best movie from Pixar. I could agree; but it’s still not my favorite. I guess I was just about to cry in that furnace scene. For a second, I thought it was over. Other than that, it followed the same plot as the first two: Woody is isolated from the rest of the toys and usually seen as enemy. Then, it’s up to Woody to save the day somehow especially after they figure out Woody was right. Think about it if you’ve seen all three movies. Anyway, the concept of Andy giving up his toys and growing up really took me in. I know I have favorite toys that I’ve held on. And the toys had to deal with it too. Very complex and rather depressing story. Oh, I was on the verge of tears when Andy handed his toys to the little girl. That entire scene…whew. It was a great movie.

2. The Incredibles

Yup, this family of heroes takes the number two spot. This movie was full of action, drama, comedy, and more. It’s also one of Pixar’s darker movies. One scene in particular that comes to mind is when Elastic Girl and her kids are washed up on the island. Elastic Girl is ready to look for Mr. Incredible and gives her children some last minute advice and orders. One thing she says is that the bad guys will stop at nothing to kill them; even though they’re kids. But, it was still an awesome movie that refuses to get old. Waiting for that sequel because the baby of the family really gets the prize for not surprising shocker. I know.

1. Finding Nemo

Maybe you can forgive me for not putting Toy Story here. Finding Nemo was the ultimate movie in that I was feeling Marlin the whole way. I always imagined that I would go across the entire planet to find my son. That’s if I ever have kids. Anyway, the movie starts off rough with Marlin’s wife and…uh…many unborn kids are attacked by a barracuda and killed. Wtf. And then, Marlin finds one little egg, which is slightly cracked, and holds onto that thing for dear life. Nemo is born with one of his fins smaller than normal. Nemo was kind of a dick in the sense he openly disobeyed his dad and that’s how he got captured. So Marlin goes looking for his one and only son. He runs into plenty of friends and adventures along the way. One friend in particular was Dory. She…idk. I’m not going to get into her story because we’ll be here all day. But, she proves instrumental in helping Marlin find Nemo (although she never got his name right until the very end), even after Marlin gave up.

So, that’s my list. Which Pixar movies are your favorites? It’s pretty impressive how many great movies there are from them. It’s a rather short list of movies but just awesome stuff each time.

-DALANEL

