The historic month is over. November out did all of this year. It accounted for one third of the blog’s views for all time. So yeah, this blog had a nice explosion during this month. However, that explosion happened in the second week of the month. After that, viewing has been a joke. So much that I anticipate a huge setback on monthly views. Still, let’s talk about how November went.

For most viewed posts, here’s what you’ve been looking at. By the way, I normally look at the top five, but, for this great month, we’ll look at top ten:

  • Daily Good Stuff 133: It’s My Birthday!
  • Daily Good Stuff 49: Funny Comics
  • 10 More Things You May Not Know About Me
  • Daily Good Stuff 197: A Sister’s Birthday
  • Weekly Funnies 6
  • 10 Facts You May Not Know About Me
  • Dante’s Opinion: Do Men Have “Backups”?
  • Director’s Notes: Interview With An Assistant
  • November: The Month of Lists and Changes
  • Daily Good Stuff 223: Get Dirty 2

I was actually surprised to see my “may not know about me” posts up there. I was excited about the interview and am glad it got views. If you only had to check out one post, it would be that one. The intro to the month was interesting to see up here.

Okay, so, where did the views come from? I’m going to go back to top five for this one as we look at social media for the month:

  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • WordPress
  • Google+

Immediate reaction is Google+ plus. This is the first appearance as a top referrer. Thing is though, the first four are in a class of their own. Google+ is just kinda there. Also, all but one of G+’s clicks came this month, which is a sign that G+ is growing for me. So that’s cool. Facebook has made a sort of comeback as they were fading even with it being the largest group of following I have. You already know that social media is growing and I’m closing in on 1,000 followers.

Now, let’s rank the social media by following.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Tumblr
  • LinkedIn

Tumblr is rising fast as well as WordPress users. Twitter and Facebook have not grown much since last month.

Okay, so, while I get views from social media, my bulk comes from search engines. Let’s rank views by social engine

  • Google
  • Bing
  • Yahoo!

Google, as you can imagine, completely blows away the other two.

This month was an odd one as my posts weren’t the only ones viewed. You guys remember Dallas T.? Welp, she got some hits too on her one and only post.

What about countries? How far was my reach? Top Ten countries:

  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • India
  • France
  • Germany
  • South Africa
  • Indonesia
  • Italy

Okay, so, that’s a pretty interesting range.

And now, it’s time to tell you some things. I’m going to reveal some things to you. Some people find sharing their stats a little personal. I’m probably not going to reveal actual numbers, but, things are about to get real. Bullet point time!

  • This is the first month DALANEL hit triple digit views in a day. A day. Since launching the blog in February 2011, and then relaunching in August 2012 as DALANEL, I have finally hit the triple digit mark. And that lasted only eight days.
  • Before then, average views per day were an incredible 18!
  • There are, as I type this, 6,482 views all time. November had 2,422.
  • The week before the historic week of views, I was averaging 37 views per day. During the week, it jumped to 201 per day. Awesome. That was the second week of the month. The past two weeks? 61 and then 44 this past week.

When I say the views are not lining up with my followers, I’m not kidding. I am nowhere close. I have to figure out a way to have all of my followers to see my work consistently. No, I don’t expect thousands of views per day. From social media alone, I would expect 200 per day. Then, like I said, search engines views obliterate what I get from social media. In fact…

  • Search engines views this month were 586, which is 24% of the views this month.
  • The social media accounts that are connected to the blog, and are part of the blog following, as well as WordPress followers, account for 181 views. That’s 7%. I don’t think that’s very good.
  • Before the month started, I was around 750 followers. As I announced during the month, I made it to 800 followers during the historic week. Now, I’m at 960. Following has grown while viewing has shrunk in the past two weeks. Go figure.

Yes, this blog exploded into being bad, versus being terrible. And that’s good for me. It’s growth, so I’m okay. At this pace, I guess by 2015 I’ll be decent? I don’t know. I just hope that December at least comes close to November. If I slip back to October numbers or worse, I’m gonna be feeling some kind of way. I mean, my emotional state isn’t all determined by this blog’s performance. Still, I’ve invested a lot into this and it would feel a little down for me if I slip into crap after barely getting out.

I want to thank you for the views. It sounds like I’m complaining and not grateful, but, I am. Each view and follow helps me keep going with this thing. November was a lot of changes. Now, I’m going to sit back and see what happens.

I’ve read close to hundreds of articles and such about what it takes to make a blog better and draw views. In those lists that I’ve seen, I’ve come down to what I feel like are the ultimate reasons why this blog sucks:

  • Audience: I knew what I was getting myself into when I decided what this blog would be about. And I knew that not everybody “supports” this type of blogging. Good news, for some reason, is simply not popular.
  • Engaging in other blogs: If there is one factor I could control, it’s looking around WordPress and sharing my thoughts on other’s posts. A couple of reasons why I don’t do this: I never feel like commenting and not even care if you comment on most of these posts. And two: Right now, my ultimate shyness combined with an anti social approach slows me down from commenting. Don’t know why.
  • Guest blog: Probably a fear of getting rejected, as well as finding a blog to guest blog at, are reasons why I don’t guest blog. A lot of sites say this is a nice way of getting views though. I’ve offered people to join me so I am open to collaboration and stuff. But, this is something I have never tried and probably should.

Other than that, there’s not much else I can seriously improve on. I could possibly be more aggressive in sharing posts.

I also decided to look up “how many views does a good blog get” as well as other similar terms. There’s a lot of factors that make a blog successful as well as what we consider success. It’s a little objective but, most numbers I’ve seen from people would lead me to believe that this blog is bad in that department. Yes, I’ve stacked my blog up with others and I feel like I fall short.

So, again, thanks for following and viewing. There is a project that I am working on and will probably be done by next year. You’ll be the first to know.

This blog is bad, but, I think it’s getting better.

-DALANEL

