I am 22. I would think I am young. Not forever young, just young. I have not lived “long”. And, even though I feel like I have valuable opinions, I also am fully aware of older folks that don’t care to hear from the young people.

Well, I’m sick of it. My age has defeated me for the last time. You know why? 

Because I quit.

I quit trying to contribute and then turned away from grey heads. Tired. It’s a wrap, folks. I’m not saying the old folks don’t know anything. What I am saying is that, just because I’m young, does not mean I’m dumb.

This happens a lot at church. You want to talk about the word? You better dye your head silver or gray. Heck, shave most of your hair off so it looks like you’re balding. I don’t mean to bash my church, because my church is far from the only people disregarding people for their age in one way or another.

I have always believed that young people can do some great things. Yeah, a five year old probably will lose at a lot of things vs a 25 year old. But, to say kids are useless…screw that.

Jesus said this: “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

So then, there must be a lot of things to learn from kids if freaking Jesus said the kingdom of heaven belongs to em. We must be childlike in some ways. Therefore, children need to be given a little more value.

Paul said this: Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.

Here, is exactly my point. Young people can set the standard, if given the chance. We have value. 

Okay, now most likely the rest of this post is going to take a spiritual turn. Just letting you know.

There are teens that are older than people in their 50’s: Spiritually. Yeah, this guy may have been saved for 50 years, but, if they haven’t grown, what’s the point? From a spiritual standpoint, I am actually more aggressive in my belief of knowing more than “old” people. 

However, we’re at a point where, if you’re old, you automatically know more than someone else. Are we able to go away from that? Nah. I can’t change a way of thinking that is thousands of years old. And so, I’m just going to sit down and shut up like a good boy.

So, what about me? What happens when I grow old? Ya know, I’ve talked about this quite a bit of how I work with kids. And I’ve also mentioned how I’ve been working with mostly kids and teens for the lighting at the Christmas cantata. I have always valued what kids brought to the table. And I intend to keep this mindset for as long as I live.

In fact, if I turn a kid away as useless, I’d better be dying. I swear I better be dying or something. God can take me home right then and there.

Back to me and now, I will simply wait. I will wait until I’m older enough and established enough. It’s really a shame because I’m a naturally shy person. It takes a lot to open my mouth. People will tell you that when I do open my mouth, it’s always something to remember. I don’t babble; I pick and choose when to share my knowledge.

Make no mistake. There’s no lack of self confidence. I have simply decided, despite the very same verses I showed you, I am giving in to the social norm of it all. You can’t quit if you don’t try. And so, I am at peace. I tried and it didn’t work out for me. I’m good.

This blog and my book have been my outlets for my voice and opinions. And I’m thankful for that. I always tell the young people that I work with and know to do exactly what I’m not doing. In this sense, I’m a hypocrite. I constantly tell kids you’re never too young to be great. And yet, I’ve given up trying to be great.

But hey, I will always be ready to back my little buddies up. It’s too late for me. I can only hope the next group of youngsters don’t lose fire and passion to be great because no one expects them to be.

-DALANEL

