I finally caved in, you guys. I’ve been thinking about this for a while and I think I’m gonna give it a try. I’m going to make an audiobook of my book, Interpretations & Illustrations.

I did the research and I think I have what I need to make it work. I have a microphone with the little foam tip (in my research, this was key apparently to avoid sound distortion) but I haven’t tested it yet. I would think it would work out though. The only thing that’s been holding me back was who was doing the recording. I am. Mercy. As I said in the past, I feel like I’m the only one who truly understand my content. I can speak with the proper emotion and tone that I had when I first wrote it out. I’m just not comfortable with anybody else doing it. I’m not confident that the message I’m sending will still get through with someone else voicing.

Once again, I’m going with Amazon for the publishing. They control ACX. And by them, the book would be available through Audible, iTunes, and Amazon.com. So you should be able to find it.

Now, for some of you, maybe there’s some concern. There’s various characters in the book; both male and female. How will I voice them, and yet you know is talking? Well, most likely, I’m going to go with announcing who is speaking before they speak. Basically, I’m going to read what I wrote as I always mention who is about to speak before they speak.

When will it be ready? Good question. Since I have the tools to get it done, and since there’s nothing major involved in the process in terms of time consumption, I could realistically say before my birthday in July it would be done recording. Of course, you’ll know the exact date as I get closer to it. Lucky for me, I have a pretty short book with short chapters. I work on a chapter per week, and considering there’s 15 chapters, that’s almost four months of recording. So yeah, July could even be too much into the future.

I’m excited about what this all means for the book. I’ll be available electronically, paper, and audio. To get updates and info on my book, go the page simply labeled “My Book” which is under the “Who’s Dante” page.

Speaking of electronically, the Kindle version is still under construction. Sadly, my efforts to improve the quality of the book are proving to be futile. At least the price is cheap anyway. If I could make it free, I would. Wait…can it be free? I’ll see about that. Okay so, keep it here at DALANEL for future updates.

Also, have you made an audiobook? How’d it go? I’d love to hear your story.

-DALANEL

