Okay, so I’ve tossed around prices for this and codes for that. I wanted to go into greater detail of what this all means. Basically, there are two forms of discounts for my book. One is for print and the other is for Kindle.

Discount on print:

Here, I published my book using CreateSpace, and Amazon.com company. My book is available in many places (where ever books are sold, it has the potential to be there). However, the discount on the print version only works as CreateSpace. When you go there, my book will be available. I have a code that can get you 15% off of the $10 tag. Again, only works at CreateSpace. Not even Amazon.com.

Discount on Kindle:

Okay, now what about Kindle? Well, the Kindle MatchBook program offers customers who purchase, or have previously purchased, a print book from Amazon.com the option to purchase the Kindle version of that title for $2.99 or less. Authors choose a Promotional List Price of $2.99, $1.99, $0.99, or free; as long as the price selected is at least 50% lower than the regular Digital List Price.

So, basically, I had the option of putting my version in the program and then being able to select one of those prices. I went with free. Now, Kindle on its own is $2.99. If you buy print, and decide you want Kindle too, you don’t even have to pay for it.

Do the math:

Okay, so now you are aware of the discounts. Ultimately, you would only use one of them.

So, let’s say you want to get Kindle version for free. You pay for the $10 for the print. So, $10. Easy. But, maybe you want to buy the print, and then you end up wanting to get Kindle because the idea of having an awesome book on the go is great. 15% off of 10 is $1.50, so the price of print is $8.50. Then you go get Kindle version for $2.99, and you’re at $11.49, which is more than the MatchBook deal. Okay, so simply put:

CreateSpace discount with Kindle version: $11.49

Amazon.com print with Kindle MatchBook: $10

So, if you want to get both books, you’re better off buying from Amazon.com and getting the Kindle for free. If you want only print, you’re better off going to CreateSpace and using the discount there. I’ll admit, I get more money if you buy print version directly from the publisher. And yet, here I am telling you that you really shouldn’t if you want the Kindle version too.

I say there’s really only one path to take because I’m guessing you’re not going to buy the print version twice (one to get the 15% off and then the other for Kindle MatchBook). Or, maybe you can and give one of the print to a friend. You can share my book on Kindle so there you go.

So, you want to buy the book now, right? Go to My Book and there, links will be able to take you to the places you need to be in order to get the best deal.

Thanks,

-DALANEL

