You know that feeling you get when something frightens you? How about when you’re nervous? If you’re like me, your stomach ends up in knots. You can even feel sick. Some sweat. Everywhere. Others can’t function properly.

Whatever the case may be, it’s a terrible feeling. Now, imagine living like that 24/7. Maybe some of you do. Some of us do have to in a sense. Policemen, fire fighters, the military, and others like that have to always be on edge for danger to others and to themselves. It can take its toll living in a sort of state of fear.

Even so, we know that God is not a Spirit of fear.

So, we need to make sure we don’t live in fear. Fear of anything. Even death.

Let’s use me as an example. I got this common allergy test where they inject stuff into your back. It itches like crazy. I talked about it already. Anyway, when it was all said and done, I was told I was allergic to your classic pet dander and fur and dust. I can’t deal with the outside.

Another result I got was that I was allergic to all food groups except meat and dairy. Sorry vegetarians, but that’s my reality. Around this time, I and my mom had accepted Jesus into our lives. I guess for my mom, this was one of the Devil’s attacks on her faith.

I remember her telling me how scared she was. Her baby boy could die at any moment from anything. There wasn’t enough juice in that epi pen. She said the Lord told her to just test me out.

And that’s what we did. I ate this and that. Some things gave me problems and other things didn’t.

My point is that, we can’t live in a constant state of fear. What if I decided to be afraid of every plate of food I stumbled upon? I have a peanut allergy. I also react to apples, which are one of my favorite foods of all time. Just my luck. Do you know I tend to eat peanut butter covered apple slices on occasion?

Of course not; you don’t know me. Please.

Anyway, that may be a bit foolish, but it’s the principle. We have to continue to live our lives. If we spend time worrying about everything, we won’t be useful. We won’t be productive.

We won’t grow.

Now, I’m not saying run around butt naked screaming “I FEAR NOTHING!”. You need to be cautious. There is a difference in being careful and being scared.

Shoot, God wants to take us places. During our trip, we’ll be faced with uncertainty. I didn’t know how I would eat. But, with God’s guidance, I learned what was severe and what was tolerable. I held on to the fact that He created my body and so He knows what it can truly handle.

That’s the thing. God is the doctor. The ultimate doctor. He’s the last word in your life. Trust God. Don’t live in fear.

It’s dark right now. We can’t see a darn thing. Have you ever stepped down a flight of stairs and think there’s another step and there isn’t? That slight jump of feat comes in. That’s how life is sometimes. We walk like we’re afraid of that last step. We’re always looking down, watching.

But, we need to keep our eye on God. He knows the path. He knows how many steps we need to take. Listen to Him.

Okay, I’m out. Peace.

-DALANEL

