Monday Motivation: Keep track of your time

Monday Motivation: Keep track of your time

Recently, I started to keep track of my time as well as project how many hours per day and week I would use for blogging, work, school, TV, and more.

I tend to plan ahead. I like making little charts and all of that crap.

I think we should do that. In order to waste less time, we should go into our day and/or week with some sort of plan on how we’ll spend that time. And then stick to it.

Grab your smartphone and download an app or use the generic alarm on the phone. Set the alarm. No matter what, when it’s time to move on, it’s time to move on.

For one thing, working on something for a long time can screw you, mentally. Shucks, your brain can get tired. I find that, when dealing with a problem, if I walk away and do something else, when I come back to it with a fresh mind and perspective, I end up solving it.

My favorite example of this is when I play video games. I’ll spend what seems like an eternity trying to beat the level. What almost drive me crazy is that I’ll put that game away and play/do something else. When I come back to the game…sometimes days…and sometimes weeks later, I beat that so called impossible level in just a few tries. And I’m like “Why couldn’t I do this before?”

So that’s one reason why you should stick to a schedule.

Another reason, like I said, is to help avoid wasting too much time. For one thing, the day is already planned out, so that’s less time trying to figure out what to do next. You already know what’s next.

But, there’s also the idea of being able to take care of yourself. In a previous motivation, I talked about how we should really get more sleep. If we plan our days more efficiently, we can possibly get a better night’s sleep because we’re not playing with ourselves during the day.

And, during the day, give yourself a couple of breaks. Let your mind and body rest. In this modern world, it seems like we have to be doing something every minute. But, I don’t think our bodies were designed to constantly be active like that. That’s part of where that common saying “The better you are at multi-tasking, the worse you are at multi-tasking”. It’s better for our performance to be able to concentrate on one thing at a time.

So, get some paper and start thinking. What did you do last week? Write that down and estimate the hours. Now, think about what you need to do for the week. Write that down. Then, write down how many hours per day or week you want to give that goal and, as best as possible, stick with it.

Stuff happens. And for some people, a solid schedule isn’t possible. So, if you can help it, get a plan together and let’s get more efficient. More effective.

-DALANEL

Now I want to hear from you

