Today’s Wednesday Word is one of those few times where I’m like, “That’s what I’ve been saying!”. This video really sends a message: Let’s go back to basics.

By the 2 minute mark, I knew what was going on.

That’s our problem. We have all of these denominations. I’ve always said that Jesus doesn’t care about that. All He cares is that you accept Him. John 3:16 says “for God so loved the world that He gave His only Son so that whoever believes in Him will not perish, but have everlasting life”. Jesus said disciples. To be politically correct, we’re the ones that created all of these denominations and titles. Jesus didn’t come for that.

And, like Kevin was saying, at some point, we need to just let go of various interpretations of what the Bible says and just say “We’ll never know”. “We’ll never understand”. And that’s okay. That’s fine. God is so great and vast that there’s no way we’ll understand Him and His ways. We don’t fully understand the simplest of things in our world, and yet we think we can tackle God? Alright.

I always go back to the other point of this: Our division doesn’t make it any easier for non-believers to get behind Christianity. Do we meet on Sunday or Saturday? Does Jesus do this or that? It’s to the point where nobody knows what a Christian is. And, we can’t agree on something, how can we expect others to follow? We have no clear direction. I mean, it’s almost hate how one denomination views another. Did we forget John 3:16? I’m pretty sure, when we get to the gates, God’s not gonna ask “Which denomination where you?” (your answer) “Oh, too bad; that’s not the right one. You’re going to hell.” Really? I don’t think so.

So, with that in mind, we can’t get caught up in the divisions. God wanted us to work as one. Yes, we all have different view points and opinions. But, again, some of them are opinions on things we’ll never ever understand and so, it’s a waste to decide that you’ll just go away.

Get this: God is God. He is the same. Quite frankly, our divisions come from the potential fact that we want to hear what we want to hear. It’s like we’re molding God into our own image. My goodness. That’s it. We want God to be the way we want Him to be. And if a church doesn’t paint that picture, then we’ll just leave and go somewhere else. God will not change though and, in all honesty, you should accept God as He is, just as He accepts you as you are.

I don’t know God’s ways. But, I think I know this: When Jesus returns and we get our new bodies and the new Eden and all of that, I bet we won’t have these divisions. I bet denominations fade to nothing. I fail to understand the grand importance of them. Is it because I am young and a fresh mind? I don’t think so.

Let me share a funny story with you. As some of you know, I have a Lighting Crew at my church. I recruited people that were bold and had a good head on my shoulders. Sometimes, this backfires. Case in point, one of my girls, a young teenager, has recently been obsessed with me getting a girlfriend. One day, she was showing me people on her phone. “Is she cute?” “Do you like her”. I answered her. Next thing I know, she’s telling me stuff about these girls like interests and hobbies. I didn’t care. Little did I know, she actually signed me up, behind my back mind you, she signed me up for Christian Mingle, the dating site. Now I can find God’s match for me. Right.

If you’ve been following this blog, you already know I have little to no intention of getting involved with anybody.

She tells me what she did, and naturally I’m shocked. I tell het to delete it and she claims she forgot the password she used. Yeah right. Let me take a moment to just say I love all of my crew members. They are an awesome group of kids, oh, excuse me, teens, that are absolutely brilliant. Lighting is an art AND a science. You have to be fluid in both, and we are.

Anyway, we were at rehearsal at the time. When I got home, I immediately fought for access to my account. I finally get in, and my curiosity got the best of me. I poked around my profile to see what type of stuff they wanted to know about you. One of the things was they wanted to know my denomination.

Let me tell ya, when I hit the drop-down list, I nearly had a stroke. There were so many denominations I never even heard of, I had to make sure I was at the right site. It was crazy. Now, I am non-denominational and so is my church that I go to. It’s nice because we go in, we praise God, do a few other nice things, listen to the sermon and go home. It’s easy. As I looked at the many denominations of my faith, I realized that I’m better off on a regular dating site. What’s the difference?

One day, we won’t have to worry about this stuff. Today is a good day to start pulling ourselves back into one group of people.

One group of people in awe.

-DALANEL

