be a light

Let me first start by saying that the news is awesome that the teen got the money and all of that. But, when you find out why this man needed a new car, you might just lose your mind…and be a little more thankful…

Robertson, 56, begins his day at 8am and doesn’t get home until 4am, after travelling most of his journey to and from work on foot. The factory worker can’t afford a new car on his $10.55 an hour salary, and has been making the massive trek every day for 10 years to keep a perfect attendance record.

Holy crap. He comes home, sleeps for a couple of hours, and does it all over again. Holy crap.

So, Evan Leedy decided to do something about it.

The student’s original goal was to crowdfund $5,000 for bus fare, but it quickly reached enough to purchase a vehicle. I initially set the goal for $5,000 just to get him something, bus fares and taxi rides,” Leedy said. “I went to go get ready and an hour later we had $2,000 donated already. Within four hours we had over $10,000. I bumped it up again and by the end of the day we had over $30,000.”

Soon after, car dealerships offered to give the man a free car. It’s a great story, but I love the quote from Robertson’s boss:

“I set our attendance standard by this man,” Todd Wilson, Robertson’s manager, told The Detroit Free Press. “I say, if this man can get here, walking all those miles through snow and rain, well I’ll tell you, I have people in Pontiac 10 minutes away and they say they can’t get here – bull!”

Welp!

There’s a fantastic image in the story of Robertson’s daily commute. Take a look at it. Thank God for public transportation!

