A little series of me reflecting on my life. I always wondered what it would be like to travel back in time. Without spoiling anything, what would I tell my younger self?

I think one of my biggest fears is that I haven’t changed much from the five year old I remember. I remember him being a shy wuss. No balls. A big baby. He hated school with his heart. And Soul. He didn’t know Jesus.

He was a good guy, though. He didn’t do anything that would make you consider him a problem child. He was a kid, like any other. That was the problem. He never stood out. According to mother, he was reading before he was walking. Impressive. The Dante of today loves reading AND walking. Now, I hope into my time travel machine to have a talk with him.

23 Dante: Hey, Dante. I’m Dante. I’m you, from the future.

5 Dante: No you’re not.

23 Dante: Uh, yeah, I guess you got me. My name is Travis.

5 Dante: ………

23 Dante: You don’t say much, do you?

5 Dante: I guess.

23 Dante: What do you want to be when you grow up?

5 Dante: I dunno.

23 Dante: That’s alright. Let me tell you something. Don’t let other people tell you what you should be. When you go to college, do what you want to do. Live a life God wants you to live.

5 Dante: Who’s God?

23 Dante: You’ll find out soon enough, kid. You’ll be glad you met Him too.

5 Dante: Is He like Santa?

23 Dante: NO! (clears throat) Uh, I mean, not really. Trust me, he’ll be your best friend and protect you.

5 Dante: Will he proteck me from the trees?

(5 Dante had a fear of tress due to a nightmare of witnessing his family be eaten by them. Long story)

23 Dante: Yes, Dante. You won’t have to worry about those evil trees anymore. They won’t hurt you or your little sister.

5 Dante: Mommy says I have to proteck Denae. She’s a baby and I’m her big brother.

23 Dante: You like being a big brother?

5 Dante: Yup. It’s fun.

23 Dante: (smiles) Never stop loving your sister.

5 Dante: Ok. I won’t.

23 Dante: Good. Guess what?

5 Dante: What?

23 Dante: You’re going to be the greatest big brother of all time.

5 Dante: How do you know?

23 Dante: Because I know. No matter what you accomplish in your life, no matter what you do when you grow up, you will always hold being a good brother as a top accomplishment.

5 Dante: I’m gonna have lots of sisters and brothers?

23 Dante: You’ll have more sisters than you could ever imagine.

5 Dante: Hmm…okay.

23 Dante: (looking at watch) I have to get going, Dante. Can you promise me one more thing?

5 Dante: What?

23 Dante: I…(sighs) I need you to never change. You’re perfect just the way you are.

5 Dante: Okay, Mister.

Alright, that was tough. I actually almost cried at while writing this. The memories of that little guy. I wish I could have a real talk. I want to remember what he thought about life in his unfiltered eyes. The optimism of a child is something we all need.

Even from a young age, being a brother was key for him. It was something he liked. Poor bastard doesn’t know he won’t get brothers to call his own during his childhood. Oh well.

I lied to him about who I was, because I’m pretty sure he couldn’t handle the idea of me being him.

Later in life, Dante would not only get over his fear of trees, but sleep under them for many nights as a Boy Scout.

I miss him the most of all of the Dantes I plan on visiting. I wonder where I should go to next.

