I love to write. I love to teach. I love to light.

What if I did all three?

This year’s Vacation Bible School (VBS) is my chance, and I didn’t even realize it until I signed up for it.

I’ll be teaching the high schoolers. High school. Teens. Now, my lighting crew is nothing but teens, so I’m used to dealing with this age range. I’ve been teaching in the church for 12 years now and I’m 23. Good Lord.

I found lighting and blogging around the same time, though I’d have to say I was blogging before (like, a month or two) lighting. I’ve said many times I would rather write a play before I light a play.

Well, it would appear I can do both.

My goal is to teach the youngsters. At the end of the week, the classes are suppose to do some kind of presentation based on what they learned. Usually, all under high school does a dance. As for the high school folks, they perform a skit.

Can you see where this is going?

As head of the lighting crew, I can easily pull resources from that area for the skit. So, for this particular week, I will find myself teaching, writing, and lighting the same thing. Three loves in one.

The Ultimate Project.

So, it’s July 6th when things start. I have some organizing to do. I gotta get my lighting crew ready. I gotta get my lesson plan ready. I gotta make the best skit ever. And I’m loving the challenge. Would I rank my loves? Blogging/writing is the clear winner. Teaching is second and lighting is third.

The plan is to do it big, mainly for the lighting crew.

I’ve been creatively starved for a long time. It could be because I’m not being allowed to do anything, not able, or the Director wants to do something else. But, as the teacher and author, I can easily put lighting in a position for success. We’re gonna have a lot of action because it’s a superhero themed event. I’m not gonna spoil what’s coming, but it’s gonna be great.

But, like I said earlier, this is a moment built for my lighting crew and I’m not ashamed to mention it. We’ve wanted to do some crazy things for a long time and now we’ll get to go crazy. Be free, for a minute. I can write what I want, and this is actually the first time I would have written something creative for the church. I’m pretty sure the church doesn’t know just how talented I am with a pen, but they will soon.

Best of all, my Associate Lighting Designer, Nia, is helping me out. I say best of all because she’s become a fan of creative writing and has been taking classes. Plus, she does lighting and I’ve taught her everything I know. At this point, working with her will only improve the situation. She’s become a true ally.

I’m ready for the ultimate project and I’ll be sure to share it with you once it’s closer to completion.

