It finally got to me. The world finally got to me. The world has finally convinced me that this world is not getting any better. We continue to praise evil. Uplift it. Murder. Homosexuality. Theft. Scandal after scandal.

But more than that. I don’t care what jeans that celebrity wore today.

It’s like a combination of meaningless and horrible news is spewing out and I can’t escape.

One of the things about Cortana (on my Windows Phone as well as Windows 10 on PC and tablet), is that I can filter her to see the news I want to see. But, other than that, there’s misery everywhere I go.

The problem is social media. No, social media isn’t the bad guy. But, the way I use it. The way it’s being used. It’s not good. I have been in the process of unfollowing and unliking things. I am filtering my life and what I see.

But it’s not enough. The only way to truly escape is to completely shut yourself down from civilization. But, you can’t really do that, right?

Right?

Actually…

No, you can’t. Even though that’s what I want.

I’m naturally an anti social guy. I have no desire to go outside. But, the only way to function is to go outside. What’s interesting though is that it’s easier. I mean, grocery stores deliver now. Amazon dot com. Enough said. It’s becoming more and more easy to work from home. Plenty of jobs can be done on a computer and I wouldn’t be surprised to see it as common to work for that big company on your couch. I look forward to that day, honestly.

So, what you have is a guy who doesn’t want to be exposed to the world, being exposed to the world. And I’m tired of it. Commercials are making me sick. Commercials. They talk about anything but the product or service. Stuff like that just piss me off.

Do I care? Nope. Not anymore. At first I wanted to make a change but, nah. Let it be. Know why? Because I have decided to shut it down.

I’m shutting down. Me. My blogs. Shutting it down. I blog at other places and they require stuff and I’m obligated to keep working on that. But yeah…it’s time to go to sleep.

I have multiple tabs open on my browser right now. About ten of them are about lighting. One is YouTube. Three is WordPress. One is Microsoft Store (I’m looking for a new phone), and lastly, I have Bing dot com open.

Isn’t that funny? Nothing in there is actually what I’m talking about in this post. Well, if you’re familiar with Bing dot com, then I guess that’s a source. But, for the most part, it’s all clean.

I can’t believe this, man. I really can’t believe it. I’ve really given up. I don’t understand it.

I need a break from the world so I’m tapping out. I’ll be back when I’m ready.

This blog has almost 2,000 followers. Clearly, people like what this blog is about and where I’m coming from. At the same time, when I look at where the views are going for this site…sigh…it doesn’t seem like my current theme is making a mark.

I have to reevaluate my blogging life but one thing is for sure: Dante’s Optimism will be the last thing to die from my blogging world. I’ve said this before. But I gotta stop with TV and movies and internet and stuff. It’s time to read a book that I haven’t written (haha). Maybe work on some writing myself.

I just started a new job that will take up some time as well. I’ve handed leadership roles over to members of the ALF Lighting Crew so I don’t have to deal with that. I need a vacation from the world, desperately.

You’ll see me again. You’ll see writing from me again. Don’t know when, but it’s coming.

But it’s time to shut it down.

