I’ve been talking about love for a little while. There is another “L” word I like talking about: Light.

I was recently thinking about how we as people look at differences as a bad thing…if we don’t understand them. Take a seat, because this is gonna take a while.

Now, as I have mentioned here a few times, I am a lighting designer for my church lighting crew, which I started. I was self taught. Learned most of what I knew thanks to people on YouTube and various websites. Now, I have also dedicated my YouTube channel to help others in lighting.

I say this because one of the things I have learned about is the primary colors of light: Red, Green, Blue. RGB together make white. Keep this in mind.

Now, of course, there are variations of these primary colors. We get secondary and tertiary colors of light. We go even further than that.

One of the things as a church lighting designer is that I always use colors that signify something. Part of this requires me to study the colors that are used in the Bible. What is the symbolism of Bible colors?

Well, to save time, the color White generally represents these things:

  • Innocence
  • Purity
  • Holiness
  • Salvation
  • Representation of God’s glory

There are others but keep those in mind.

I was, as I said, thinking about the differences of people in life. Age, race, culture, and more. It’s a shame we don’t celebrate these differences more often. Too often we are content to be with our own kind because we don’t want to be involved with other things. Different things. Shame on us. Shame.

Anyway…

I started to think about light and how it relates to this. Whether a Christian or not, I think you can agree that each of us is a color of light.

You are blue.

I am green.

She is yellow.

He is pink.

Is there anything wrong with any of these colors? Of course not! And, all of use together created the wonderful light of white. All colors of light make white. Together, we are great.

But noooo, instead, red people are not good enough. Purple people smell. Magenta folks don’t follow that religion. How could we possibly associate with different colors than ourselves?

We’ll lie to ourselves too. Oh I hang out with other colors…as long as they are a shade of blue. “My color is sky blue and she is celeste. See? DIFFERENT!”

Stop it. Your color is just as beautiful and important as mine. I love my color but I know I can’t be or do what other colors can. These personalities or traits or however you want to link light to a literal example, are useful.

It comes down to this for me: Let your light so shine so that others may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

That’s Matthew 5:16. Jesus doesn’t care what color light it is because it doesn’t matter. Whatever light it is, you let it shine.

We should not say, “His light is not the right light”. Stop it. From a church standpoint, you have to ensure all kinds of light have a chance to shine. Singing, ushering, tech arts, security, drivers, hospitality, and more. God has assigned us a light and we’ve got to let it shine, regardless of what others think.

It’s funny; sometimes you don’t realize what kind of impact your light has until it’s removed or added.

Red, Green, and Blue. Yet, if you removed Blue, all you have is Red and Green and that makes Yellow. You can see the difference.

God wants us to work together. Nobody is a white light, even though that’s what we desire to be. We are not whole; we are a part. An arm and leg have different roles. We need them both to have a chance at a full life. A whole body. You are the arm. I am the leg. We are part of one.

It’s the same with this light. Together we create a blessed light. We are missing something important when we cut off other lights of the world.

We need to get a grip. Wake up.

Find out what color you are and embrace it. Build the flame so it blinds all. Let that thing shine! Be the light you need to be because people need it. At the same time, you need the other colors of light.

You want a better world? Be better. Be brighter. We have been too dull for too long and we’re suffering for it. We have cut ourselves off from the gifts out there and we’re suffering for it.

I have no real conclusion, people. You know what to do. Let’ get to work.

