Here’s an interesting question:

Is it wrong to ask God for proof of himself, other than the bible?

No, it is not. That’s the beauty of it all. In fact, people in the Bible asked God to prove Himself. My favorite story is Gideon. I’ll just paste the passage here:

 So Gideon said to God, “If You will save Israel by my hand as You have said—look, I shall put a fleece of wool on the threshing floor; if there is dew on the fleece only, and it is dry on all the ground, then I shall know that You will save Israel by my hand, as You have said.” And it was so. When he rose early the next morning and squeezed the fleece together, he wrung the dew out of the fleece, a bowlful of water. Then Gideon said to God, “Do not be angry with me, but let me speak just once more: Let me test, I pray, just once more with the fleece; let it now be dry only on the fleece, but on all the ground let there be dew.” And God did so that night. It was dry on the fleece only, but there was dew on all the ground.

That passage was from Judges 6:36-40. This isn’t the only time Gideon asked God to prove Himself. But, this is my favorite. He asked God to basically go against the laws of nature…twice. Absolutely fantastic.

Don’t be afraid to ask of God in this way. Approach with respect and adoration. You are not challenging Him. If anything, you are seeking confirmation. Yet, God wants us to rely on faith. So, His response will be one of two things. Either he’ll accept the test, or ask you to jump anyway. But, I think it’s no problem to ask. Ya never know how God will reveal Himself.

