It’s baaaaaaaack!

In case you are new to this series, Dante’s Opinion is me answering questions given to me or stuff I find on sites like Yahoo Answers. These are not stories based off of my personal experiences.

Here’s today’s…question:

I was hanging out last week with a friend of mine, who also happens to be my co-worker, and I got a text from another co-worker out of the blue. I didn’t give him my number, but it is on Facebook , so I’m guessing he got it from there. I don’t know him too well, but I’m guessing he wanted to be my friend or something, because he acknowledged that texting me out of the blue was random, but wanted to know if I’d be interested in hanging out some time.

I showed this text to my friend (who is also of course this guy’s co-worker) and we had a pretty good laugh at it. I didn’t reply to it.

So I’m guessing my friend must have mentioned it to this guy (he apparently laughed right to his face for sending me this message). I didn’t know this until I approached him about something and he replied: “Please don’t talk to me unless it has to do with work. If you don’t want to be my friend, fine, but there was no reason to embarrass me. Like I said, don’t talk to me unless it has to do with work, but ideally I’ll never hear from you again.”

So I didn’t give him my number, he found it and helped himself to it. Did I do anything wrong or rude here? If anything I sort of feel like my friend was the rude one for laughing in the guy’s face…

Well, well, well. This has a lot of stuff in here. I want to hit on some things you said:

  • I showed this text to my friend (who is also of course this guy’s co-worker) and we had a pretty good laugh at it.
  • I didn’t reply to it.
  • So I didn’t give him my number, he found it and helped himself to it.
  • Did I do anything wrong or rude here?
  • If anything I sort of feel like my friend was the rude one for laughing in the guy’s face…

Hey…I’m about to tear you up.

Concerning your first point, why would you laugh about this? What is so funny about a guy wanting to hangout? Is he some sort of weirdo with a history of being odd? I don’t understand why you had to go there.

Your second point. You didn’t reply to it. Lord have mercy; this is your co-worker. You just avoiding this? He won’t track you down? You wasn’t man enough to decline (choosing instead to laugh at him)?

Third point cracks me up. You did give him your number! If you put it on Facebook, you gave him and everybody else (depending on your privacy settings) access to this number. It’s a virtual/digital version of a phonebook listing. You gave your number and he took it. This one is funny to me, fool. If he went to other people asking for it or something, then sure. But, you voluntarily provided your information. That’s on you, buddy.

Next up, YES, YOU DID. You was rude and wrong. Here’s the thing: Just because it happened behind closed doors doesn’t mean it’s right or “okay”. You likely know you wasn’t going to laugh at him if he asked right to your face, right? Because you know that would be rude. Jesus. Hey, people do this kind of stuff all of the time but it’s wrong.

Yes, your friend was just as terrible…but you know what’s funny? At least he was bold enough to laugh in the guy’s face. I mean, what a jerk but he’s an honest jerk. Also, I thought it was cute how you are trying to turn it to your friend. Like I said, you indeed were rude. You both f’d up.

I don’t know what to tell you. If your friend told the guy right to his face, he’s likely told others as well. Your reputation has likely taken a big blow. Again, people have done this on different scales. It’s gotten to this point because your friend, for some strange reason, decided to bring this private moment to the public. Too bad.

