Everybody has a purpose…but…what is it?

Usually, we like to think it’s of some higher calling. Some grand accomplishment. This is true. When God made us…even before we were in the womb, He had great things planned for us.

However, as we live our lives, we end up doing things that go against this plan. At some point, we can mess up in such a way, that the original intentions of your birth are simply gone.

This is true. For instance, once you go to jail, there are quite a few places…quite a few jobs you simply can’t hold. Having a criminal record is just a weight.

So then, some people believe they have no purpose. Just existing. Just being. Until the end comes. But, I happen to think that, even if you lose your original purpose. Even if the original plan is gone, you can still make an impact.

That’s what I came to realize recently. I see myself as not able to do what I was called to do. The original plan is lost. Some say “don’t give up”, but I say there are levels of success. There are Plan A’s and Plan B’s and so on. I think after a certain point, if you stray from your path enough times, Plan A just can’t happen. So, you go for Plan B. C. D. and however many more letters you need to go through.

Time is the reason for some of this too. If you expect to make it to your destination, but you take these wrong turns, you waste time. That time ain’t coming back. Now, you’ve got to accept the reality that, while you may get to where you need to be, you’re not going to get there when it was originally ordained.

But then, some people f up in such a way, where they just completely drop the ball. God wanted you to be an athlete, but you got drunk, went for a drive, and will never walk again. So, now that dream God had for you is gone.

This does not mean you are now worth nothing. This does not mean your purpose is nothing. In fact, God can use people in many ways.

The reality that I don’t hear a lot from pastors and all of them is that you can, in fact, lose your original purpose. But, you are never useless.

You end up falling into the “this is what happens when you don’t do the right thing”. This is a real testimony, my friends. You can become a mentor to people. Show them what happens when you don’t follow God’s plan. Show them what happens when you decide to drink and drive and lose that scholarship to that great athletics program in that college. Let people know that, just because there is a plan made for you before time began, you are not invincible to consequences of foolishness.

What I have decided to do is to stop crying about what kind of failure I am. What I am now trying to do is make sure the next generation doesn’t f up too. That’s my new purpose I can still be useful. And so can you.

See, I made a terrible mistake as a big brother. I didn’t do my job and because of this, things have gotten out of hand. I deem myself a failure as being a good brother. It’s done. I look at this little cousin I have. He’s 4 years old and welcomed a little sister this past summer. I’m just a few years older than one of my sisters. I’ve been where he is. Being the only kid and then somebody else shows up.

I tell him when I see him what his job is. He’s to protect, love, support, and be his little sister’s best friend. That’s his job. I failed. But now, I can show this young grasshopper the ways of being the ultimate brother. Pass on my experience to him. Make sure he doesn’t f up like I did.

Just because you made a mistake and no longer may be able to continue your journey does not mean God won’t use you for something else. Keep in mind I am talking about one scenario here. I’m not saying one mistake means it’s over. Each situation is different. But, like in my examples of being in jail or ending up with a disability from recklessness, things can change and you may simply never be able to recover. But, don’t just stop right there.

