Basically a year later and I’m adding a new entry to the Love series. Since I’ll be making references to my previous posts, I will link you to the category dedicated to this topic. I suggest you read through the other posts.

The Love series.

Now, let’s begin.

I ask the question of “can you be lovable?” but it might not be in the way you expect. See, I’m not asking if you yourself can be lovable. I’m asking if we, as a people, can be lovable because, as you know, we are to love others. We love our family, friends, and enemies. We love God and ourselves. Everybody gets loved.

So, but, can we…earn this love? That’s my question.

It’s not a question of if we deserve it. That’s not quite where I’m going. I’m saying, can we do something on our end to bring out the love of others?

At first, this seems like a simple “yes”. I strongly believe it’s “yes” but…and by now, you know I always have a but. I mean that with one or two “T’s”. Anyway, I think we can earn love, but I don’t know if that’s something we should be doing.

See, if we earn love, that means somebody may not be doing their job of loving regardless of what you do or who you are. See what I mean? Like, if I’m a complete jerk to everybody in the office, I may not earn love from others. However, I venture to say it doesn’t matter if we earn love or not. We are supposed to be loved, as we are supposed to love everyone.

Ah, but I see what you’re saying. It can be hard to love people who go all out making sure they treat you like the scum of the earth. But, again, we are supposed to show love to our enemies. Now look, this doesn’t mean we just allow the hurt and hate to consume us.

That’s where I know I gotta explain because some of you didn’t hear the first part of this post.

The question then becomes how do you actually show love to enemies in such a way that it doesn’t appear to be like you’re letting things go like there’s no problem? It’s a combination of knowing what love is (I talked about this in the series already) and then projecting that love onto our enemies.

In fact, if we look at the primary definition of love as I wrote it, we see that you don’t actually need to have a personal relationship with someone to show them love. I think that’s what makes it really…easy. But hard. Ah…

Again, the cashier at the store, or your spouse. You can show them that same exact base love.

So, I think you get it, right? Like, loving someone does not mean you put up with their foolishness. If anything, you simply don’t resent the foolishness. You forgive the foolishness.

So, if we go back to my question of earning love, it’s a sad reality that we actually do earn love, but we’re not supposed to.

Put it like this: We did nothing…NOTHING to earn Jesus coming down to sacrifice His life for us. We didn’t live a certain life as humanity and Jesus was like “they got enough love invested. Time to cash out.” If anything, it was the opposite. The world was so f’d up, Jesus was like, “I wanna help them out”.

But, the world is all about earning. Earn that paycheck to live your life. Right? Whatever it is, whether at the office, in the arena, on the stage, or wherever. We earn. So, naturally, we feel like we need to earn love.

Really, this post’s question is the result of a mindset we have of the opposite side of things. Since we believe our love is only given to those who earn it, we also believe we have to earn love.

But that’s just not right. If the Bible pushes so hard on loving everybody, regardless of how they treat you, then I strongly believe that people don’t earn love. This is something that just is. Loving someone should be as constant as breathing or blinking. It’s a part of our makeup, in a spiritual sense. Our DNA is to love.

You know how when you blink, you just blink. Heck, you blinked quite a bit while reading this post, right? It’s like an automated function, but then, you can override it. You can consciously blink or not. Just like breathing. It’s an automated function but you can stop breathing if you want or take a really deep or shallow breath.

That’s how loving should be. It should be an automated function, no matter what. You shouldn’t need to think about it. You should just love.

Here’s something: Let’s say you hold your breath or keep your eyes open. Things get…painful…right? Right. Because, even though you CAN stop it, your body NEEDS it to happen.

I will venture to say it’s the same thing with loving. If you stop loving, it will hurt you, buddy. So, keep loving. Not loving can kill you.

I mean, God is love and God is life. So, in a way, love is life. Like, love and life go hand in hand. God’s love is a powerful force that can do things. Just His love. It’s actually hard to grasp but I am serious. His love alone has power. Ah, but maybe that’s another post.

Anyway, it’s time to move on from the idea that we earn love. We really shouldn’t be put in the position to earn love in the first place so that’s the answer to that. If anything, I could have named this post “should we earn love?” It sounded better the other way though.

